Saturday, May 5, 2012

The Serpent's Shadow by Rick Riordan

The Serpent's Shadow (Kane Chronicles, #3)

He's b-a-a-ack! Despite their best efforts, Carter and Sade Kane can’t seem to keep Apophis, the chaos snake, down. Now Apophis is threatening to plunge the world into eternal darkness, and the Kanes are faced with the impossible task of having to destroy him once and for all. Unfortunately, the magicians of the House of Life are on the brink of civil war, the gods are divided, and the young initiates of Brooklyn House stand almost alone against the forces of chaos.

To find the answer they need, the Kanes must rely on the murderous ghost of a powerful magician who might be able to lead them to the serpent’s shadow... or might lead them to their deaths in the depths of the underworld...


I've been a big Riordan fan ever since Percy Jackson, and so it's pretty much fair for me to say that I will love any book he writes.  However, that being said, I never really liked the Kane Chronicles as much as his other books.  That is, until I read The Serpent's Shadow.

Let's start with the plot.  In the first two books I felt like the plot really didn't connect with eachother.  Of course, that may have been because of the gap in which I read the two books, but still.  Anyway, I found that this book really connected all the plots while having an amazing one of it's own.  Sadie, Carter, and their friends are still trying to stop Apophis, and they've found a pretty far fetched plan involving his Shadow that ay or may not stop the snake.  Of course, this plan is also the best chance they have.

The characters also seemed to progress alot in this book.  In the first book, I didn't really like any of the characters that much, becaus eof lack of character development.  I thought that every character developed a lot in this book, more than they did in any other.  Carter went from being the dorky push over to being a leader, and Sadie went from being a brat to being a really kind person.  Also, a minor character in this book had my name in it (which made me very happy), and my name doesn't pop up much in books.  Plus, when it does I usually don't like the character.  But how can I not like a little pre-schooler?

The twists and turns in this book, oh my.  I didn't know what was happenning (excluding two major details including Zia and Walt) until it happenned.  I love books that surprise me.  It makes reading them so much more fun!

Also, for those of you who wondered who Sadie ends up with, I think you'll be happy.  Riordan, in his usual fashion, found a way to make everyone happy.  Sure, the solution is a little wierd, but I think that that's the worst someone can say about it.  Also, Carter and Zia have a happy ending, which was also very nice.

As for the conclusion of the book, in some ways it was awful.  But more of a really sad awful.  I was crying, but I was also very happy.  The end of the book was certainly amazing, and I wasn't dissapointed in it at all.

The Serpent's Shadow was not lacking at all in Riordan's usual witty narrative, and had me devouring the book from the moment I opened it.

Rating: 5/5

Market: YA
Language: None
Sensuality: Mild (kissing)
Violence: Moderate, no gore

4 comments:

Miss Jack Lewis Baillot said...

Sorry, can't read this review as I still have to read the second book 8-D I bet it is good though!!!

Cheryl @ Tales of the Marvelous said...

Interesting...I still found Sadie to be a brat! I agree with you on the development of Carter's character, though. The characters didn't appeal to me that strongly in the first two books, but I thought he became much more likable in this one. :)

Canada said...

With "The Serpent's Shadow," Rick Riordan sticks with his winning formula: gods and heroes (or magicians) must work together to save the world--and they only have a few days to do it. In the final book of the Kane Chronicle, Carter and Sadie have to complete a quest to stop Apophis and the forces of chaos before they destroy all of the created order. Along the way there's plenty of humor, a little romance, some crazy outfits, and lots of fun twists as Riordan brings Egyptian mythology into the modern world. Fans of Riordan's Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series will notice a couple cameos--and some hints of more adventures to come. It's a fun romp of a read.

Lauren Jane said...

I've always been a huge Rick Riordan fan but I had the same experience with you in this new series- the first one was not my favorite . . . I guess I'll have to give the second one a go! Thanks so much for the review.

www.readmyprint.blogspot.com